The church of La Merced was built in 1650, in its current location, although it underwent a deep remodeling in the second half of 18th century. The friars arrived in the town of Osuna in 1609, and they were initially settled in the hermitage of Saint Ana, located in the outskirts of the town. After two failed attempts, in 1637, the monastery was erected in the area that it currently occupies.
The most relevant news about this church belong to the 18th century in which many important works were verified. The artifice of this great work was the Vicar General of the Order, fray Miguel Ramón de San José, born in Osuna. The reconstruction of the church including the magnificent stone doorway, the erection of the tower, marble Génova flooring and its altarpieces was possible thanks to him. The works were made between 1768 and 1775 under the direction of Antonio Ruiz Florindo, who also build the La Casa del Cabildo colegial (former granary) in San Pedro street.
In the 20th century this building was used as a hospital.
The church only has a nave, with chapels on both sides. The main altarpiece, from 1716, work of Francisco María de Ceiba, was moved to the Chapel Los Marineros of Sevilla.
At the bottom of the nave it can be found the choir, with wooden stalls with the coat of arm carved.
The tower constitutes a fundamental piece of the monumental town. It is made of carved stone and ashlars.
The beauty of the tower is increased because it forms a unique corner of art with the façade of the Church.